Brought to you by Pilot Productions - producers of addictive travel and adventure TV shows that take you to unforgettable destinations around the planet. Globe Trekker is the ultimate intrepid traveller's guide to exploring our wonderful world.

Presenter : Zay Harding

West Texas

They say everything is bigger in Texas and nowhere is this more apparent than in the Western half of the State.  With its big landscapes, big history and big steaks, West Texas is bursting at the seams with action packed adventure and offers up a colourful mix of the iconic and unexpected.

Fort Worth Cattle DriveIn Globe Trekker West Texas presenter Zay Harding begins his journey in the state capital, Austin.  With its vibrant music and arts scene, Austin is a shining Mecca for the weird and wonderful and Zay dives right in exploring everything from rattlesnake hotdogs to bingo with chickens.

After a night out soaking up Austin’s wild and crazy music scene Zay heads south to visit the laid back city of San Antonio where he explores the Alamo and gets a lesson in what it really means to be Texan. Our next stop is El Paso,a multi layered city defined by its complex relationship with Mexico colourful, vibrant and oozing with Latino charm. Zay meets the locals and learns about the good, the bad and the ugly sides to life on the border.

Cowboy Zay

Heading into the desert surrounding El Paso, Zay gets a taste of the old Wild West.  In a landscape straight out of a John Wayne movie he boards a stagecoach and travels along the old Butterfield trail.  It’s a journey back in time, to a place where banditry and Indian raids were common place and beautiful rock formations like Hueco Tanks provided a welcome respite from the punishing travel conditions of the 19th century American West.

Cadillac Ranch

 

For the final leg of his trip Zay takes to the road in a 1960’s mustang and travels to the far north of the state into an area known as the pan-handle.  It’s a classic road trip that takes in the stunning Palo Duro Canyon and most of the Texas leg of Route 66.  Determined to get his kicks on Route 66, Zay busts a gut in Amarillo’s steak eating challenge, leaves his mark on a bizarre art installation known as Cadillac Ranch and concludes his journey on the border with New Mexico in the mysterious ghost town of Glenrio.

Credits

A Huge Thanks to the Following Organizations who contributed to Globe Trekker West Texas!

Hilton Garden Inn – Fort Worth North: http://hiltongardeninn1.hilton.com/en_US/gi/index.do
Hilton Garden Inn – El Paso Airport: http://hiltongardeninn1.hilton.com/en_US/gi/index.do
Hotel Indigo – Houston: www.houstonluxuryhotel.com
Omni Hotels – Austin: www.omnihotels.com
Aloft Hotel – Dallas: www.aloftdallasdowntown.com
The Historic Menger Hotel – San Antonio: www.mengerhotel.com
Ambassador Hotel – Amarillo: www.AmbassadorAmarillo.com
Miss Molly’s: www.missmollyshotel.com 

RESTAURANTS

The Big Texan, Amarillo: www.bigtexan.com
The Edge of Texas, El Paso: www.bowenranch.com/Edge-Of-Texas.html

MUSEUMS

National Cowgirl Museum: www.cowgirl.net
Texas Prison Museum: www.txprisonmuseum.org
Space Center Houston: www.spacecenter.org
The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza: www.jfk.org
The Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum: www.thestoryoftexas.com
The Alamo: www.TheAlamo.org
The Devil’s Rope Museum: www.barbwiremuseum@centramedia.net

ENTERTAINMENT

Stockyards Championship Rodeo: www.stockyardsrodeo.com
Fort Worth Stockyards: www.fortworthstockyards.org
Stockyards Station: www.stockyardsstation.com
Billy Bob’s Honky Tonk, Fort Worth: www.billybobstexas.com
Legends of Texas: www.thelegendsoftexas.com
Six Guns and Shady Ladies: www.sixgunsandshadyladies.com
Lile Art Gallery: www.artamarillo.com/
Route 66: The Mother Road: www.66theMotherRoad.com
Fort Worth Gun Show: www.ftworthgunshow.com

PARKS

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department – Hueco Tanks: http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/spdest/findadest/parks/hueco_tanks
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department – Palo Duro Canyon:
http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/spdest/findadest/parks/palo_duro
Chamizal National Memorial Park: www.nps.gov/cham/index.htm

TOURISM

Fort Worth Convention & Visitors Bureau: www.FortWorth.com
San Antonio Convention & Visitors Bureau: www.visitsanantonio.com
Austin Convention & Visitors Bureau: www.austintexas.org
Dallas Convention & Visitors Bureau: www.visitdallas.com
El Paso Convention & Visitors Bureau: www.visitelpaso.com
Amarillo Convention & Visitors Bureau: www.visitamarillotx.com
Houston Convention & Visitors Bureau: www.visithoustontexas.com
City of Kilgore: www.downtownkilgore.com

OTHER

Romantic Remembrances, Dallas: www.romanticremembrances.com
El Paso Historical Commission: www.elpasocountyhistory.com
Route 66 – Crocodile Lile: www.crocodilelile.com
Bowen Ranch, El Paso: www.bowenranch.com 
Texas Rowing Center, Austin: http://www.texasrowingcenter.com/

Places Mentioned - USA

Share the series

Destination Guides

North America

View Destination Guide

Route 66

USA

View Destination Guide

Texas

USA

View Destination Guide


Articles